Skip to content

This Should Be Our BB&W Theme Song!

July 5, 2010

[Vodpod videos no longer available.

Special thanks to Afua (see my blog roll, Conversations with my Sisters) who brought this video to my attention.  I’ve been trying all darned day to get this thing up right and kept getting a lot of gobbledygook, but since I thought the message was so important, I persevered!  Now here it is.  I may be late, but what can I say?  I listen to talk radio.

What I love the most about this video is not so much the negativity this couple faced from generation to generation, but that last gesture Ms. Keyes made–that glimmer of hope that, despite the REALLY MAD LOOKING BLACK DUDE staring daggers at the guy, she would open the door…and her heart.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2010 6:54 am

    this was one of my fave songs on the album. the video made it my favorite song on the album. how beautiful. when fate needs to happen it does

  2. Christelyn permalink*
    July 5, 2010 7:12 am

    Tani :

    this was one of my fave songs on the album. the video made it my favorite song on the album. how beautiful. when fate needs to happen it does

    Oh so true.

  3. Jacquie permalink
    July 5, 2010 7:50 am

    Okay, I have watched music video in years. So, when I first heard the song I thought it was about her and Swiss Beats relationship…*kanye shrug*. But I’m glad to see I’m wrong! I do like the song.

  4. Sharon permalink
    July 5, 2010 9:16 am

    Did the original posting of this get deleted?

    • Christelyn permalink*
      July 5, 2010 10:44 pm

      @Sharon, yeah, I couldn’t get the code to convert into a video. I remember…didn’t you wonder if the couple got together at the end? I sort of think it was implied by her hand gesture to open the door–both physically and metaphorically.

      • Sharon permalink
        July 7, 2010 3:23 am

        I think I said “so this is why Chad Michael Murray hasn’t been on One Tree Hill, ok I forgive him” lol

  5. Hodan permalink
    July 5, 2010 7:06 pm

    love her, she’s such an amazing talent who never bothered to sex-up and sleaze-up her career, unlike ladies like Beyonce. Even though I can’t stand the male actor she choice as her love interest and the video is kinda boring, love the song and old skool take on it.

  6. July 5, 2010 9:52 pm

    I really like this song and the video that accompanies it. Great choice, Alicia

    http://socialitedreams.wordpress.com/

  7. Eugenia permalink
    July 5, 2010 11:03 pm

    Love the song, love the video, and love, love, love Alicia Keys.

Leave a comment