Skip to content

Freedom from Band Camp WTI!

July 5, 2010

That 12-year-old standing next to me is Maxi-Me. She used to be Mini-Me until she deliberately defied my orders to stop growing.

So tonight is our last night at Band Camp WTI, and I’ve got to say, despite it’s EPIC cheesiness, it has been a blast.  We went to the big shin dig on the lake, with pre-July 4th fireworks and a country band.  The whole thing reminded me of the Bernstein Bears.  The only thing missing was the banjo.  I must admit I was totally into the whole scene until they band played Dixie, and…well…I do not wish I was born in the Land of Cotton, because my butt would have been out there picking it, so I stood in silent protest for all the negroes (my mother included) who pricked their thumbs on those cotton needles and blistered in the sun to make someone else wealthy.  No thanks!  But!  Grand ‘Ol Flag was a song I could get down with, and well, with the beer flowing like Niagra Falls, it was  a beautiful thing.  Too bad I don’t have any pics from tonight; I was too drunk to hold the camera straight.  But here’s some other pretty ones:

Emma and I posing in Dowe's Cavern, but if you ask me it should be Snow's Canyon it was so cold!

Chloe caught many fish with Grandpa, but wouldn't touch it even if it had just swallowed her favorite Barbie!

Since I did a lot of this...it's back to Barry's Bootcamp!

Zachary INSISTED I spin him around until he was near regurgitation.

...Then, we both almost threw up!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeff permalink
    July 5, 2010 6:56 am

    I love your blog! Thanks for letting us know about it!

    Facebook Group: White Men Who Know Black Women Are the Most Beautiful Women:
    http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php?gid=116113995067370&ref=ts

    • Christelyn permalink*
      July 5, 2010 6:59 am

      Jeff, you and your buddies are welcome here! We need non-black male perspectives, so please feel free to chime in on issues that strike an interest.

  2. godzooki permalink
    July 5, 2010 7:03 am

    Beautiful pics! Love your blog!

    • Christelyn permalink*
      July 5, 2010 7:08 am

      Thanks for visiting, and tell your friends about our community!

  3. July 5, 2010 7:27 am

    HAHAHA! Great photos Christelyn. Maxi-Me looks like you spit her out. And the baby is HUGE now, wow she is growing. Beautiful family girlfriend. 🙂

  4. Jacquie permalink
    July 5, 2010 7:48 am

    Love it! ‘Specially the one of you and Zachary…almost throwing up! 🙂 Beautiful family!

  5. Browncow permalink
    July 5, 2010 8:31 am

    You looked like you all had such a good time. I agree with the Dixie song too. I just don’t get down with it. I know half of my family ancestors didn’t pick cotton, but on my mom’s side, they did. I’m not going to groove to that song. Anyways, beautiful photos, beautiful family, and I’m happy that you had such a wonderful vacation. Also, how did you blog all this time while on vacay?

    • Christelyn permalink*
      July 5, 2010 8:33 am

      Sunny Hill has free WiFi! It’s what kept me sane.

  6. kaikou permalink
    July 5, 2010 10:04 am

    You have a very beautiful, happy family. Thanks for sharing!

    • Christelyn permalink*
      July 5, 2010 10:08 am

      Thanks so much kaikou. Sometimes I look around and wonder…damn, we made ALL those kids? 🙂

  7. Jai permalink
    July 5, 2010 10:29 am

    You have a beautiful family, thanks for sharing!! 🙂 Your 12 yr old looks like your twin.

  8. July 5, 2010 10:59 am

    Beautiful, beautiful family….

  9. Hodan permalink
    July 5, 2010 4:31 pm

    beautiful family, it looks like you guys had a blast. I love camping trip, so I give props when a large family does it.

  10. Marie permalink
    July 5, 2010 6:12 pm

    Looks like you guys had a blast! Safe journey home!

Leave a comment