Skip to content

See, it can work!

June 27, 2010

Okay, thanks to Barry’s Boot Camp and Vita Mix, I managed to get in shape for this trip and look like this:

Hubby wouldn't do full shot b/c he knew I was putting this on the blog! hee hee

This shot was taken right before water aerobics.  Which was fun, but a bit distracting since the instructor looked like she was time transported from a Jane Fonda video.  I half expected her to jump in the water with leggings on.

Band Camp WTI has been a ball so far.  It’s crazy good how our hodge podge of a family works so well, and there’s real love between us.  It truly is a testament that you can, with love and patience, overcome differences, find common ground, and bond across racial and intercultural lines.

Tonight we have some MAJOR excitement going on after dinner–a 27-foot slide, which I’M TOTALLY ON IT!, a rock climbing wall (I’ll do it if my back holds up and I’ve had enough to drink), and a movie on the lake.

I’m really hoping that at some point, me and the hubby can go on a urhm…”nature walk” later…STOP THAT PEARL CLUTCHING!  I like watching…squirrels.

Anyhoo, here’s a little photo montage I thought you’d like, just click on the link below.

And don’t think that because I’m on vacation, I’m slacking!  Here’s what’s coming up next week on Beyond Black & White:

–“Where in the World?” Janice gives a partial list of the best (and worst) places to carry on an interracial relationship.  We’re also counting on you to chime in on how your neck of the wood fares in this department!

–“White Guys Like ‘Em Skinny”: We’re going to discuss the oh-so-touchy issue of weight and fitness as it relates to health and attracting an interracial and/or intercultural mate.

–I’m writing a pretty serious post on CW’s site called, “No Wedding, No Womb!”  That should get vewy vewy in-ter-est-ing.

–Question of the Week: Deborrah Cooper will chime in on one readers angst about approaching a non-black college boy who stares the begeezus out of her but won’t ask her out.

And that’s just some of it, so get your notebooks out and pay attention!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. BlkQueenBee permalink
    June 27, 2010 3:17 pm

    Those are some very cute photos. And you and your husband look great together! And, girl, you are pretty!

    I’m hoping I have some family photos of my own soon; my man has a big, extended family as well.

    Thanks for sharing those shots of La Famille de Karazin!

    • randomthoughtsfromcali permalink*
      June 27, 2010 6:28 pm

      Thanks BlkQueenBee! I’ve been working like a plantation slave to get my body back after four kids, so I’m flaunting the hell out of it! Please do share your family photos as well–the more BW who see that THIS CAN WORK, the better!

      • BlkQueenBee permalink
        June 27, 2010 6:47 pm

        I need a ring first!

        But, working on that…

  2. sharon permalink
    June 27, 2010 4:04 pm

    Very nice photos!
    Have a great time at “band camp” 🙂

  3. Browncow permalink
    June 27, 2010 4:26 pm

    I loved the photos. I think my favorite was your nephew and that teeny tiny fish. He was so proud of that fish. Have fun on your family vacation and I hope you get that…”walk in the woods”.

    • randomthoughtsfromcali permalink*
      June 27, 2010 6:30 pm

      I was hoping for the, “nature walk” today, but the hubster decided he wanted to do the 30-foot rock climbing wall, and that’s all she wrote. Eh, maybe tomorrow.

      • Browncow permalink
        June 27, 2010 7:12 pm

        You may have to lay an ambush… *devilish grin*

  4. Jules permalink
    June 27, 2010 7:07 pm

    You are looking good girl. Enjoy the vacay. Seeing your photo has inspired me to stick to my juice fasting that I am currently on. I was craving a burger, but now I will just go munch on a couple sticks of carrots instead. The kids fishing are too cute.

  5. June 27, 2010 7:23 pm

    unfortunately, all your videos and pics are blocked here in China..so I am not able to see them.. but .. I am sure you look awesome… and dont do anything I wouldnt do…heheheh

  6. Hodan permalink
    June 28, 2010 11:16 am

    you look Haawt as my friend would say. Now I wanna hit the gym and get ready for my upcoming trip.

  7. Lisa in NYC permalink
    June 28, 2010 11:43 am

    Four kids?!?!

    And you look like that?

    I’m younger than you and have no kids, and you look better than me!

    I’m glad you’re married ’cause that way I don’t have to compete against you in the dating game. LOL.

    Damn, girl, your husband should consider himself a lucky guy!

    • randomthoughtsfromcali permalink*
      June 28, 2010 2:42 pm

      Thanks girl! Like I mentioned, he wouldn’t take a full shot because he didn’t want everybody on the blog to see how REALLY hard I’ve been working! 🙂

      • Browncow permalink
        June 28, 2010 3:24 pm

        I want to see how hard you’ve been working. I need some inspiration really. I know I’m pregnant, but I want to get back in shape after the baby is born. Nothing crazy at first, I’ll wait until he’s like 3 months before I start doing anything like working out, but I do yoga and surprisingly when I keep up with it and eat right, my body completely slims down. Who knew? I know your DH wants to keep you to himself, but you can’t say, “hey I’ve had 4 kids and I’m a hottie” without giving us ladies something to be inspired by.

  8. randomthoughtsfromcali permalink*
    June 28, 2010 4:18 pm

    Browncow :

    I want to see how hard you’ve been working. I need some inspiration really. I know I’m pregnant, but I want to get back in shape after the baby is born. Nothing crazy at first, I’ll wait until he’s like 3 months before I start doing anything like working out, but I do yoga and surprisingly when I keep up with it and eat right, my body completely slims down. Who knew? I know your DH wants to keep you to himself, but you can’t say, “hey I’ve had 4 kids and I’m a hottie” without giving us ladies something to be inspired by.

    Okay, maybe later I can sneak a shot on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

