Skip to content

Friday Funny: Gargoyles, an Act of God?

June 24, 2010

I wrote this little ditty a while back. But I thought with all the church talk going on around here, it seemed somewhat apropos.

————————–

Gargoyle of Notre Dame, Paris

I am sorry to report that most people in the world are not smart.  I mean, just look at Sarah Palin.

I would like to think that as a creative person, I have somehow been able to separate myself from the unwashed dumbos, but that’s really not the case. My gene pool is swimming with the intellectually challenged.

For example, I had a conversation with someone in my family (I won’t name names, but let’s just say she and I shared a womb once, and I love her like a mother) about gargoyles.

Womb Sharer was looking through my 12 year old’s science book and came across the gargoyles of Notre Dame. ( As an aside, let me just say that those guys are in desperate need of some serious body re-sculpting.) But anyways. She’s looking through the book and reads aloud about erosion. “The meh-can-i-caaal process of wearing or grinding something down,” she says.

And then she points to the gargoyles.

What I’m about to say actually happened.

I did not make this up.

“Chris, look at erosion! Look what God did!”

I walk over, curious. She says again, “Look at the gargoyles, see the erosion?”

I look at the photo. No big deal. I tell her so, she looks at first a bit nonplussed, then annoyed. “Well, I guess it takes a lot more to impress YOU, miss smarty pants!”

I give her a what’s-the-big-deal look, but then it comes to me. She thinks GOD formed the gargoyles from erosion. It never occurred to her that the picture of the gargoyles reflect the damage caused by erosion.

Oh my. The Womb Sharer thinks God made gargoyles. I give her a long, sad look. She suddenly realizes how silly a thought that was and makes me SWEAR not to tell the hubster.  I tell her that’s not fair, and isn’t there some Bible verse that says I’m not supposed to listen to you anymore once I’m married?  Then she says, “You’re always trying to make me look bad!”

“Really? I make you look bad?”

26 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2010 10:53 pm

    ohh… my… I feel you pain….I too have been blessed with knowledge impaired family members…. however, it is worse because my lost causes actually believe they are correct and will fight you to the death on something that is obviously wrong. It is sad but please remember that the knowledge impaired have to be handled with…soft kid gloves.. to avoid more brain damage

    • randomthoughtsfromcali permalink*
      June 24, 2010 11:24 pm

      “It is sad but please remember that the knowledge impaired have to be handled with…soft kid gloves.. to avoid more brain damage”

      BWHAAHAHA! Never have I heard a truer statement!

  2. Browncow permalink
    June 25, 2010 4:41 am

    Yeah, I know what you mean. And it isn’t because they’re really stupid which infuriates me that much more. It’s because that’s how they *think* they should act because of the communities they have chosen to associate with and live in. I have a younger sister who really dumbed herself down in school because that was what she thought her friends were doing. Until it was time to apply to college and her friends were getting good grades all along, they acted stereotypically black for appearances. Well she shot herself in the foot with that one. So when she decided that she wanted to go to school to with her friends, no college would accept her. The only place that did was an HBCU and my sister didn’t even have a 2.0 GPA! Talk about stupid. The clincher is that she’s smart! She just did what she thought other people would accept and all the while I was telling her to get better grades and stop trying to “assimilate” into what she thinks black culture is. Oh I could go on and on about the brain cell challenged. Funny post though.

    • Fallible Sage permalink
      June 25, 2010 8:15 pm

      How Now Brown Cow? Now I’m gonna help you think.

      Have you thought about the fact that you’ve managed to blame your sister’s shortcomings on the black community where she lives? I know a lot of smart kids who don’t do what they’re supposed to do. If she thought her friends were underperforming in school to fit in, then they weren’t her friends, because friends generally know how their friends are doing academically. Sounds like someone wasn’t being accountable. 😦

      Did you realize that you also managed to suggest, I hope inadvertently, that HBCU’s are somehow deficient while the other schools that didn’t accept her due to their higher academic standards, were predominantly white no doubt? Did she apply to a Howard or Spellman? If she’d applied to Liberty I’m sure she’d have gotten in.

      I embrace all people, but what we think about ourselves is probably most important.

      • Browncow permalink
        June 25, 2010 8:38 pm

        Actually, I know for a fact that she wouldn’t have gotten into Spellman or Howard because I know both schools and their academic prowess. I can’t even remember the name of the school she applied to, but she did apply to most of the schools that I did when I was going to school and didn’t get into even one and those were some hard schools in my region. Not Ivy League or anything, but not very easy to get into. I also hope that I didn’t imply that HBCU’s are deficient, but I may have a bias to believe that perhaps some (not ALL) coddle the students a bit too much. I did say some and not ALL, right?

        I also do not blame my sister’s shortcomings on the black community. I blame her for being dumb enough to think that was how she was supposed to act. There was only one friend who she knew was doing well in school, but the rest, she didn’t know or care about until they started taking SAT’s and applying to colleges. Unfortunately, she is no longer friends with one of these girls for other reasons. My sister basically wanted to go to college to party. She had no thoughts of getting a degree or what she wanted to do. If she did, she would have had the drive to just go and do what she wanted rather than look outside for approval. Even if she did look outside, she didn’t look in the family. I for one brought her to my school for our Black Student weekend and showed her college life in order to motivate her to do better. She didn’t want to listen to anything I had to say in the matter. So oh well.

  3. June 25, 2010 6:05 am

    Sometimes the smartest people are the evilest!!
    Your womb-sharer is pretty stupid if she tolerates your arrogance.

    Signed,
    A stupid Mom

  4. Hodan permalink
    June 25, 2010 9:25 am

    lol, your poor sister seems to believe in the literal dogma that argues certain creatures existed or actually walked on earth with humans (eg. dinosaurs). Then again, humans by nature will seek any form of mythology and it doesn’t always bear on their lack of intelligence. After all the likes of Isac Newton believed in magic and fairy tales, while Einstein believed in God.

    • Fallible Sage permalink
      June 25, 2010 8:01 pm

      Einstein did not believe in God. He spoke of God, but never meant it in the traditional theological way.

      • June 25, 2010 9:55 pm

        True, it was always a metaphor for Nature. Also, he didn’t want to offend.

  5. June 25, 2010 10:00 am

    wow.. people.. loosen up… laugh a little…jokes.. these are jokes..

    • Browncow permalink
      June 25, 2010 10:23 am

      Yeah, thanks for bringing me out of the rafters. Not everything is meant to be a crusade or major issue. 🙂

    • randomthoughtsfromcali permalink*
      June 25, 2010 10:31 am

      Indeed, a good laugh is good for the soul.

  6. June 25, 2010 10:05 am

    Womb sharer.. *laughing*
    Classic!!

  7. Sharon permalink
    June 25, 2010 10:09 am

    lol I can just imagine her facial expressions as she thinks it through.. lol
    we all have done that lol ha ha ha
    Did you tell hubby? lol

    • randomthoughtsfromcali permalink*
      June 25, 2010 8:00 pm

      I couldn’t WAIT to tell him. But like I mentioned, I’ve had my share of blond moments myself. Not quite to this degree, but…yeah.

      • June 26, 2010 10:11 pm

        I remember that horrible day I learned women sometimes fake the big Oh.

        I. Just. Could. Not. Believe. It.

  8. Tracy permalink
    June 25, 2010 11:43 am

    I would have told EVERYONE!!! LOL thanks for the laff, and confirming that brainless moments happen in every family!

    • randomthoughtsfromcali permalink*
      June 25, 2010 7:59 pm

      Yes, even I, THE ARROGANT ONE, have had more than a few brain farts in my day. Heck, I just had one…oh! and another…

  9. Jules permalink
    June 25, 2010 12:02 pm

    Chris, you are wrong for posting this…lol

  10. randomthoughtsfromcali permalink*
    June 25, 2010 7:57 pm

    Me :

    Sometimes the smartest people are the evilest!!
    Your womb-sharer is pretty stupid if she tolerates your arrogance.

    Signed,
    A stupid Mom

    MWAHAHAHAHA! *twirling mustache*

    Please ME, (boy that sounds kinda weird to write, because it’s not REALLY me I’m talking to, but YOU, so…)

    Me, you’ll learn that my humor is COMPLETELY irreverent and (sometimes, OK! a lot of times!) wholly inappropriate. The people to come to visit me here share, or at least tolerate my disposition.

  11. June 26, 2010 7:08 pm

    I feel sorry for all the black folk that support Sarah Palin and the Tea Party. Ya’ll should be ASHAMED of yourselves!

  12. June 26, 2010 7:43 pm

    Sarah Palin.. ? Tea Party? Support? Did I miss something… ? the the conversation change?

  13. randomthoughtsfromcali permalink*
    June 27, 2010 5:12 am

    Aabaakawad :

    I remember that horrible day I learned women sometimes fake the big Oh.

    I. Just. Could. Not. Believe. It.

    HAHAHAHAAHAAHA!

    • Browncow permalink
      June 27, 2010 12:05 pm

      Alright, that was funny. So you have women sending an incompetent man out away thinking he can rock somebody’s world. I couldn’t believe it either and I’m a woman! Ha ha ha!!!!

  14. sharon permalink
    June 27, 2010 4:06 pm

    randomthoughtsfromcali :

    Me :
    Sometimes the smartest people are the evilest!!Your womb-sharer is pretty stupid if she tolerates your arrogance.
    Signed,A stupid Mom

    MWAHAHAHAHA! *twirling mustache*
    Please ME, (boy that sounds kinda weird to write, because it’s not REALLY me I’m talking to, but YOU, so…)
    Me, you’ll learn that my humor is COMPLETELY irreverent and (sometimes, OK! a lot of times!) wholly inappropriate. The people to come to visit me here share, or at least tolerate my disposition.

    Ummmm I was going to comment on you replying to yourself but I got confused…

  15. June 28, 2010 4:38 am

    lifebehindthewall :
    Sarah Palin.. ? Tea Party? Support? Did I miss something… ? the the conversation change?

    LOL! Yes, in the beginning Christelyn wrote “I am sorry to report that most people in the world are not smart. I mean, just look at Sarah Palin.”

Leave a Reply

