Skip to content

“Hey! I was playing with that!”

June 20, 2010

Aside from writing, I think I have discovered a new passion I want to share.  My new Jones?  Cinematography.  Now I know I’m a little early out the gate, but I think this project may catch the attention of some muckety- mucks from The Academy:

This situation seems to happen quite a bit when black women begin to explore their interracial and intercultural dating options.  These guys are like dogs peeing on their turf.  Or like Dating While Brown put it, it’s like a petulant child who sees someone else play with his toy–you know the one, buried underneath the toy box with lint and gum stuck to it?  Yes; that’s the one.

So…when was the last time a brother peed on you?

33 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2010 8:42 pm

    LMFAOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO. I can’t. I just can not. This is priceless. Must see more. This has happened to me in the last few weeks since my relationship status got turned into “Aisha is in a Relationship With [ white man ]”. This was so spot-on, too. Hahahahahaha.

  2. June 20, 2010 8:52 pm

    LOL!! That was a one funny video 🙂

  3. randomthoughtsfromcali permalink*
    June 20, 2010 8:54 pm

    *winks* Tell your friends. I’ll be here all week.

  4. June 20, 2010 9:02 pm

    You wouldn’t think this kind of thing would happen in China.. because … it is the land of the Chinese folks.. but I met a Black American guy.. who has lived in China for more than 9 years… he has married (she died in childbirth) and dates Chinese women… However… when he met my husband and I … He took me aside and asked me .. what the Hell was I doing dating Chinese…isnt that some nerve… I was like.. excuse me? He said.. there are plenty of African men around.. and a few Black American men .. why couldnt you have married one of them? I was speechless..(well briefly.. i am never speechless for long) .. I first told him .. it was none of his damn business…even threw in the..”You don’t know me” … and then I told him.. arent you dating.. Chinese women in China.. hello..? He was like… that is different… I just looked at him… silently.. and walked away… I really couldnt waste my time… They african girl that happened to be with the group said to me… he is just made because now you are getting all the attention by dating Chinese man…(she only dated African by the way)… I was stealing his fame I guess.. but deep down I know… he felt that I was making black men and him look bad because .. a Chinese man could handle the job of taking care of a Black woman.. and do it better.

  5. randomthoughtsfromcali permalink*
    June 20, 2010 9:15 pm

    Some nerve! I can’t understand how he could do that with a straight face.

  6. June 20, 2010 9:17 pm

    Well you can take the crazy people out of america.. but you cant take the crazy out of the people… after that.. everytime I looked at that man.. just shook my head and kissed my husband… (smile)

  7. June 20, 2010 9:34 pm

    It ALWAYS surprises me how it’s ok for Black men to date interracial but if someone else in their camp or treading their territory is doing it then they have a problem. It’s the Uncle Ruckus syndrome from an episode of Boondocks, just straight up selfishness because they’re not appreciating the person but the fantasy of dating someone outside their race, a fantasy of exoticism like the woman’s some type of wild animal from the jungle on display at a zoo. But the moment they discover she farts and sh!$s like everyone else, they’re ready to move on, or they spend their time trying to change her. It’s ok to date outside your race but I often find that black men do it to get some type of reaction like ‘Oh, she’s white but she got a big butt,’ or ‘Yeah she’s Asian but she act like a Sista,’ or something stupid like that. If I ate a lot of donuts I’d have a big butt too.

  8. June 21, 2010 5:06 am

    LMBAO!!

    Shew you’re gonna have the trolls beating your door down 😀

  9. June 21, 2010 5:52 am

    “it’s like a petulant child who sees someone else play with his toy–you know the one, buried underneath the toy box with lint and gum stuck to it? Yes; that’s the one.”

    THIS! I’ve not yet had the opportunity, (because my experiences have always been with male friends, and that’s a whole other dynamic) but I’d love to ask the random guy on the street who wants to know (essentially) why you don’t love him (because, as we all know, black women dating non-black, ESPECIALLY white, men is a personal affront to black men) if he could really be honest and tell methat had I been alone he would’ve wanted to get my number. Truth is — no — and it’s THAT that burns my biscuit.

    We’re the toy they don’t want till they can’t have it. And even then the still don’t really want it.

  10. randomthoughtsfromcali permalink*
    June 21, 2010 7:38 am

    Therein lies the hypocrisy.

  11. June 21, 2010 7:57 am

    This is just so funny! So sad that this happens in real life.

    • randomthoughtsfromcali permalink*
      June 21, 2010 10:07 am

      Lola, I wish you lived in California so you could teach me how to knit. I like to sew, but don’t have much time, plus I need to replace my rickety rocket machine that I’ve had since I was 12. Time for an upgrade. I have this fantasy of becoming completely self-sufficient–growing my own vegetables, making my own clothes, knitting sweaters, raising cattle…although I think the home owners association might have a problem with that last one…

      • Browncow permalink
        June 22, 2010 5:55 am

        Just wanted to say that learning to knit is so easy. You can probably go to any yarn shop and someone will teach you or they give classes. That’s how I learned. We were living in Vermont and I went to the yarn shop a mile from the house and learned to knit. Now it’s like an addiction. You get a little whorish about yarn. I know I did. Every time I went out, I was buying some expensive yarn to make into socks or a diaper cover. It was setting me back a couple hundred. Just a warning. 🙂

  12. Browncow permalink
    June 21, 2010 8:26 am

    That was so funny! I was literally looking for pee on the floor when it was stated that the guy “peed” on her. I realized after a moment that it was a figurative peeing and not the real thing. This hasn’t happened in my experience, but I’ve had the experience of black men I worked with (during college) assuming and stating that I hate all black men because I had an Asian boyfriend and dated pretty much any guy I wanted based on my social preferences. I remember this one guy who was like, “oh, you’re the one who hates black men”. I asked him how he knew I did and he told me that well you’re boyfriend isn’t black so you hate black men. I basically bored him with logic tell him that was an erroneous and unintelligent assumption based on no knowledge of who I am as a person. I also told him that though this is none of his business, I didn’t hate black men, I just like MEN. If you’re good looking with a penis and intelligent (plus another set of wonderful qualities), you’re on my list. He didn’t understand it so I had to spell it out for him. I basically said that I have the same standard for all men regardless of ethnicity. He still didn’t get it. Oh well.

    Then I have had black men tell me I’m too dark for them. There was another guy at my old college job at the IHOP who told me to my face that he would never be with a woman darker than him. There I was not even 2 shades darker than him with my mouth open for his audacity. When I recovered from the insult I basically told him I would only date and marry a guy who went to college like my father. That pretty much shut him up. Tee hee. BTW, he had a white girlfriend/baby mama with like 3 kids. As far as I know he didn’t marry her. This lady would come in like she had struck gold and I was thinking she was simply doing a lot of black women a favor.

    Anyways, really funny video keep ’em coming!

  13. Marie permalink
    June 21, 2010 8:55 am

    Great video, Chris! And ITA with the above posters; when I’m alone, I might get a second look from brothers (mainly when they are with another woman, which never fails to irk me; that’s just rude), but if I’m with my SO, they are staring like they’re expecting me to do a magic trick!

    • randomthoughtsfromcali permalink*
      June 21, 2010 9:46 am

      Know any? hee hee

      • Marie permalink
        June 22, 2010 3:18 pm

        Yep: how to make rude boys disappear with sharp-tongued witticisms! Tah dah! LMAO!

    • Keebi permalink
      June 21, 2010 2:57 pm

      Isn’t that funny? “Some” black guys,especially in LA, have no problem telling black women to their face that they wouldn’t date them yet have the balls to get hurt when you avoid them. A few years ago, I had a big crush on a coworker till he started talking about his family getting annoyed at him for dating so many white girls.(Have no idea how it started – ‘Black women were this and that. He can’t date them. Blah. Blah. Stereotype. Blah. Stereotype. Ghetto This and That’) It seemed okay for him to belittle black women. In a warped way, I think he was showing off to me and wanted me to agree. After his short hot air speech, I told myself “This guy is trouble. There’s no way I can be attracted to someone like that.” I stopped hanging out and avoided him as much as possible. One day, a new boyfriend(hispanic)came to the office to give me some flowers as a surprise. Coworker glared at my boyfriend and rolled his eyes at him. Later, coworker approached me in the hallway “Oh I see you like them white boys. That’s why you don’t like men like me.” He behaved hurt as if I’d disrespected him.

      Me: “No sweetie. I love men. I don’t like you because you disrespect black women.” Him: “When did I ever disrespect black women? I love them!!” Me: “Okay Whatever” I was so disgusted that I turned and walked away. (I did not want my other coworkers to witness a beat down on the only other black person in the company.)

      • Keebi permalink
        June 21, 2010 2:59 pm

        Sorry replied to Browncow 🙂

      • Browncow permalink
        June 22, 2010 6:01 am

        I must say that’s strange. That guy was whacked out! He talks bad about BW to your face no less and then gets upset when you have a non-black boyfriend who is showing you love he gets upset. He just wanted you because he couldn’t have you. It’s another case of “BW ain’t sh*t, except for when a non-black man wants them, especially a very light skinned or white man”. Then they get all offended and ruffled up and give you what I call the “stank eye”. I liked how you handled it. I would have quoted his rant to me from earlier verbatim and then of course he would deny it, but I love doing that. I’m happy you can see through the crap.

  14. randomthoughtsfromcali permalink*
    June 21, 2010 9:40 am

    Browncow :

    That was so funny! I was literally looking for pee on the floor when it was stated that the guy “peed” on her. I realized after a moment that it was a figurative peeing and not the real thing. This hasn’t happened in my experience, but I’ve had the experience of black men I worked with (during college) assuming and stating that I hate all black men because I had an Asian boyfriend and dated pretty much any guy I wanted based on my social preferences. I remember this one guy who was like, “oh, you’re the one who hates black men”. I asked him how he knew I did and he told me that well you’re boyfriend isn’t black so you hate black men. I basically bored him with logic tell him that was an erroneous and unintelligent assumption based on no knowledge of who I am as a person. I also told him that though this is none of his business, I didn’t hate black men, I just like MEN. If you’re good looking with a penis and intelligent (plus another set of wonderful qualities), you’re on my list. He didn’t understand it so I had to spell it out for him. I basically said that I have the same standard for all men regardless of ethnicity. He still didn’t get it. Oh well.

    Then I have had black men tell me I’m too dark for them. There was another guy at my old college job at the IHOP who told me to my face that he would never be with a woman darker than him. There I was not even 2 shades darker than him with my mouth open for his audacity. When I recovered from the insult I basically told him I would only date and marry a guy who went to college like my father. That pretty much shut him up. Tee hee. BTW, he had a white girlfriend/baby mama with like 3 kids. As far as I know he didn’t marry her. This lady would come in like she had struck gold and I was thinking she was simply doing a lot of black women a favor.

    Anyways, really funny video keep ‘em coming!

    Yes, the colorism issue is an open secret and is rarely addressed. I think dark skinned black women have things the hardest–we face discrimination from our own people AND non-blacks.

  15. Robin Henson permalink
    June 21, 2010 1:21 pm

    I’ve been in the same situation with my ex husband….Who was the worst husband ever then when I divorced and got invovled with a white male …He wants to get some act right and call every day he wants me back…only because Im with a white man or what he call a “Wood”…… Now that we are married he is pist off….Lame

    • Browncow permalink
      June 21, 2010 2:31 pm

      There are many men out there who think that you aren’t worth it until they see you with someone else. I have an ex-fiance who didn’t think I was worth it until I got married to a white man and now he can’t stop saying how wonderful I am. I know he realizes that he f’ed up.

  16. A.C. permalink
    June 21, 2010 5:10 pm

    I like the “peeing” metaphor, as many men feel it is their sole right to “mark their territory”. I just had a conversation with a friend of mine, who said that it is a generally accepted view that men will cheat, women will help men cheat and in the next 25 years or so Marriage will be an archaic view. At the same time, said she, Men feel it is still their right to have the idea that “a bird in the hand is worth 2 in the bush”. Just like what the home movie showed; He has one on hand and trying to get another sad situation really… But at least she was smart enough to tell him where to get off! 😀

  17. Sharon permalink
    June 21, 2010 6:07 pm

    lifebehindthewall :
    You wouldn’t think this kind of thing would happen in China.. because … it is the land of the Chinese folks.. but I met a Black American guy.. who has lived in China for more than 9 years… he has married (she died in childbirth) and dates Chinese women… However… when he met my husband and I … He took me aside and asked me .. what the Hell was I doing dating Chinese…isnt that some nerve… I was like.. excuse me? He said.. there are plenty of African men around.. and a few Black American men .. why couldnt you have married one of them? I was speechless..(well briefly.. i am never speechless for long) .. I first told him .. it was none of his damn business…even threw in the..”You don’t know me” … and then I told him.. arent you dating.. Chinese women in China.. hello..? He was like… that is different… I just looked at him… silently.. and walked away… I really couldnt waste my time… They african girl that happened to be with the group said to me… he is just made because now you are getting all the attention by dating Chinese man…(she only dated African by the way)… I was stealing his fame I guess.. but deep down I know… he felt that I was making black men and him look bad because .. a Chinese man could handle the job of taking care of a Black woman.. and do it better.

    I cannot believe he said that to you!

  18. Sharon permalink
    June 21, 2010 6:08 pm

    I was not ready for that lol

  19. June 21, 2010 10:14 pm

    LOL…you have a budding career in show biz. I have to say nothing like that has ever happened to me. The most I have gotten was my date (white) and I walked pass a black couple hand in hand. He later told me that they made some comment but I didn’t hear because I was minding my own business as they should have.

  20. June 22, 2010 10:52 am

    what is the youtube link for the vid? thanks!

  21. Tia permalink
    June 24, 2010 9:38 pm

    Hahaha! Too funny and oh so true. I was hanging out with a white guy friend of mine a few months ago, and a very handsome black man couldn’t take his eyes off of me. He may have been liking how I looked in general, but methinks it was the white boy on my arm that made him really take notice of me.

  22. Mekia permalink
    August 1, 2010 10:50 pm

    LOL LOVE IT!!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention “Hey! I was playing with that!” « Beyond Black & White -- Topsy.com
  2. Flirting 101: There’s Still Hope for a Date this Weekend!! « Beyond Black & White

Leave a Reply

