Skip to content

A New Look for Emma?

June 9, 2010

Since most of you frowned upon my bald-headed baby wearing a lace front wig, my oldest daughter–who has an obsession about hair that I am increasingly becoming concerned about– still doggedly persists with trying with new looks for the baby until her hair grows in.  I personally don’t see a problem with having a bald baby, but I must admit that  the next time someone says, “he’s so cute” I just might have to go online to find some magic-snake-oil-doo-grow hair products–you know…just to speed things along. Or perhaps scalp massage would be beneficial.  Any other suggestions? Anyone?

I personally think cheetah print is brash and chic, but the hot pink throws things off a bit, don't you think?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Chela permalink
    June 9, 2010 4:37 pm

    I was also bald as a baby, but I think my mom kept me dressed in identifiably girly clothes so no one mistook me for a boy. In our culture, baby girls often have their ears pierced too, so that’s another way people can tell the difference. No one really worries about trying to make the hair actually grow, though. It will, in time…

    • randomthoughtsfromcali permalink*
      June 9, 2010 4:40 pm

      LOL I know, but I just think it’s funny how my oldest tries so hard to spruce her up. And then, hubby FORBIDS ear-piercing until the children have reached 39 years of age.

      • Chela permalink
        June 9, 2010 4:45 pm

        How cute. lol How old is your oldest? Kids tend to be much more focused on the superficial markers of what makes you a boy/girl (pink/blue, long hair/short hair, doll/truck). And your husband is HYSTERICAL! 39…lol

  2. randomthoughtsfromcali permalink*
    June 9, 2010 4:51 pm

    Chela, my oldest is 12. It’s hysterical to watch her try and style the 20 hairs on the top of the baby’s head. It’s like that quail tuft from the old Looney Tunes cartoons, remember the one? The quail kept having to blow his little tuft off his face every few seconds? ha ha

    • Chela permalink
      June 9, 2010 5:42 pm

      Hahaha Wow, that imagery really made me laugh out loud! I do remember quite well. Hey, that’s what big sisters are for. Let her have her fun. 🙂

  3. aaw1976 permalink
    June 9, 2010 7:06 pm

    as a bald baby.. whose grandmother velcroed a bow to her three strands of her. I hear you. psst… she got my hair to grow by wrapping the strands I did have with actual strips of silk stockings… seriously. she would wrap my hair with olive oil and silk stockings each night. she said it worked. I had none when I was born and by the time I was a year old I had a head full.

    • randomthoughtsfromcali permalink*
      June 9, 2010 7:48 pm

      Those old wives’ remedies work sometimes! LOL…just trying to picture a stocking cap on a baby! Like a baby mugger! HAHAHHHAHAA!

  4. MadamCJCPA permalink
    June 9, 2010 7:41 pm

    Your daughter Emma is beautiful and so cute; that is funny about people constantly mistaking her for a boy though. I had the same problem with my son, except people mistook him for a girl because he had a head full of curly hair, and yet he would be dressed in blue. I had to politely correct this woman at Target as she pointed out to her husband, “look at that little girl with the gorgeous curly hair.” My boyfriend was more offended by the remark than I was, as if it was personal blow to his ego that his SON should be mistaken for a girl.

  5. randomthoughtsfromcali permalink*
    June 9, 2010 7:46 pm

    Chela :

    How cute. lol How old is your oldest? Kids tend to be much more focused on the superficial markers of what makes you a boy/girl (pink/blue, long hair/short hair, doll/truck). And your husband is HYSTERICAL! 39…lol

    The oldest is 12, but on her next birthday, she will turn 25. (At least in her mind)

  6. NiQ permalink
    June 9, 2010 7:50 pm

    She is a cutie..just throw a ribbon around her head. My daughter was born with a head full of thick curly hair and what did I do…threw a ribbon around her head lol. Plz leave the wigs off the little babies lol but the scarf is awesome too.

  7. Sharon permalink
    June 9, 2010 9:51 pm

    Too cute!!

  8. Browncow permalink
    June 10, 2010 6:33 am

    I have no suggestions. Just wanted to say that your daughter is adorable and her her will come in. My little guy is almost 18 months old and when he was born he had some hair, but you know within a couple of weeks that all falls out and I was freaking out! I didn’t think that I would have a bald baby, but I did. Heck my husband was a bald baby so there it is. He still doesn’t have super thick hair, but it’s coming in lovely. He’s a curly honey blond. Just too cute if I do say so myself.

  9. June 10, 2010 7:08 am

    Hair Club for Babies?

  10. Marie permalink
    June 10, 2010 9:58 am

    Aww…I think she’s adorable no matter what you put on her, but that scarf is fierce!

  11. June 12, 2010 12:02 pm

    Poor baby. Leave that babies head alone. She is beautiful just the way she is. lol! She will have all the hair she needs and more in due time.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention A New Look for Emma? « Beyond Black & White -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

