Skip to content

Now, that’s a husband.

June 7, 2010

I had to swipe this video from the Facebook fan page, Dating While Brown.  I gotta say, I’m impressed.  My husband has taken out my braids, but never put them in.  While my guy gets those itty bitty individuals out with toothpicks like nobody’s business, my man here gets the gold star and two finger snaps.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. MadamCJCPA permalink
    June 8, 2010 2:21 pm

    That’s so cute! I taught my man how to slather on relaxer on my new growth on the back of my head when I self-relax. He’s gotten much better at it now, I can get it all in within that 20min window now.

  2. boomer babe permalink
    June 9, 2010 5:48 pm

    My husband takes MY braids out too—he’s not black either…the brothas ,some, not all, have a problem with that..I also have a friend who is dark chocolate and her white husband relaxed her hair before as well—–I think the reason they do it is because it’s something different—our hair was such a mystery, but with black men, the men of the family would crack jokes ’bout the hotcomb cooking ‘yo brains,etc.

  3. boomer babe permalink
    June 9, 2010 6:06 pm

    Thats what I call LOVE Ephesians 5 style—(bible) Husbands love your wives like Christ loves the church. It’s not at all negative towards women, it tries to bring balance.[love wife, respect husband] unfortunatly, people twist it.

  4. June 9, 2010 6:29 pm

    There is NO way that I would allow my husband or boyfriend to style or manage my hair. Only my male hairdresser does that. My father taught me how to plait my hair and that is a memory that I will cherish until I die, but there’s just something not right (to me) about my man doing my hair. No thank you.

    • MadamCJCPA permalink
      June 9, 2010 7:59 pm

      “….but there’s just something not right (to me) about my man doing my hair. No thank you.”

      I stopped going to my stylist when I realized that I had better results and healthier hair when I was self-relaxing. Now I’ve saved myself not only money, but headaches and heartaches. Plus, my man doesn’t mind, and I look at it as yet another level of intimacy between the two of us. You know it’s love if you invite your man to put his hands in your hair, and definitely if you trust him enough to put chemicals in it.

      • June 10, 2010 9:16 am

        Of course my man can run his hand through my hair, he likes it, it’s sexy. It’s just not his job (yes, I said it) to “do” my hair. Styling or combing my hair is not an act of intimacy with me. An act of intimacy would be to read to me, feed my mind, not put chemicals or styling products in my hair. My father never did my mother’s hair, my brother has never touched his wife’s hair, etc. I’d give any man the side-eye who wanted to do my hair. That’s just me. My hair is not a project to be figured out and completed. Wanna’ project? Let’s put in a new bathroom? LOL!

  5. June 10, 2010 9:16 am

    I mean to write “let’s put in a new bathroom.”

  6. Adrianna permalink
    June 10, 2010 1:35 pm

    I do date white men alot
    and i feel they love it cause its different, its new and they aim to please

    • randomthoughtsfromcali permalink*
      June 10, 2010 3:27 pm

      Good! BW are in desperate need of someone(s) eager to please them! 🙂

  7. MadamCJCPA permalink
    June 11, 2010 7:44 am

    “I’d give any man the side-eye who wanted to do my hair.”

    I can assure you he never WANTS to do it, I needed his assistance, asked, and he agreed (after I twisted his arm though).

    I believe that was the point to the video that the men don’t volunteer, but that their women asked for help and they willingly agreed (or unwillingly like my man).

Leave a Reply

