Skip to content

A mixed box of [white] chocolates

May 29, 2010

Since it’s the weekend, and I’m not entirely sure how many of you are actually STILL sitting in front of your computers during the official-unofficial start of summer, so I’ll keep it light.

I type this post next to a blob of unwashed clothes in my closet.  I’m hiding in here because I don’t want my super-bionic-eared-and-able-to-register-sounds-only-a-dog- can-hear 11 month old daughter to be disturbed by my incessant pecking.  It took 3 hours, 15 seconds, 4 milliseconds, and 103 microseconds to put her to sleep.

Thinking of my daughter and other kids makes me reflect on my supposed literacy of genetics before me and the hubby started shooting out the progeny.  I mistakenly thought that because my genes are predominately African American, our children would come out like little chocolate drops. I pictured my husband, with one cocoa child in the crook of his arm, and another coffee-hued babe holding his hand, would look like a foster father.  We had a good laugh about it.

Then the first one, the second, and finally the third little Karazin came out looking pretty darned…white-ish.  I guess those Deutschland genes of his proved that once again, Europeans feel like they need to dominate everything.

Now when I breast feed my daughter in public and people do a double take when they see a little white hand flailing about, I just tell them I’m the wet nurse.  Freaks them out every time.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. NiQ permalink
    May 29, 2010 8:05 am

    Cute…and great story. Your one lucky lady, moved all the way to cali to get a fresh start and 2 years later, I’m still looking.

    • randomthoughtsfromcali permalink*
      May 29, 2010 8:16 am

      southerngrown2001, this seems to be a problem with a lot of AA women seeking to expand their options. I’m doing some serious investigating and research on the best way black women can put themselves out there for a chapter in my upcoming book. I will say that the Internet is a really great way for people to meet and learn about each other from the inside-out. You meet the personality before you meet the person, you know? Me and my husband met on Yahoo chat before all these dating sites existed. We were kind of embarrassed about it. For a long time we told people we met sitting next to each other on a plane!

  2. Nita permalink
    May 29, 2010 9:05 am

    Hello and congrats on you new baby. I met someone on an online dating site and we hit it off very well. I’m kind of cautious and not trusting of the online dating thing. He is White German living in the forest and I am a Black American living in a big city. We have much in common and we plan on meeting soon in Germany. I hope our chemistry online is a strong if not stronger in person. I am nervous about it. I stopped caring if people know that I online date. Recently a Black male friend of mine discovered my online profile and decided that he is what I was looking for. ummmm Only as friend buddy. LOL How did you deal with personal issues you may have had with online dating? Like not really trusting him and how you met online. It’s starting to bother me. I really snapped on him yesterday over a previous online situation he was involved in. I guess you can say I have trust issues with this online thing. “SIGH”

    • randomthoughtsfromcali permalink*
      May 29, 2010 9:17 am

      Nita, online dating has some level of risk, and I can understand your apprehension about going to Germany to meet him. But despite the horror stories you hear on the news, online dating is pretty benign, and a great way to learn about a person on the inside out. As for us, we met online 11 years ago before it was “cool.” For a long time we were so embarrassed that we fibbed to our parents about how we met. Truth be told though, I met my husband on a date the very next day after we connected online. You know what did it for me? His humor, and the fact that he sent me the cutest picture of him with Santa Claus. I thought to myself, someone with those eyes and that smile, who also loves Santa simply can not be a serial killer. Yes, in retrospect, I was kind of naive. But it all work out. I guess the point of my rambling is just to tell you that sometimes, taking the leap could be the best thing that ever happens. But do exercise some caution. You might not want to stay at his house, perhaps a nearby hotel?

  3. godzooki permalink
    May 29, 2010 1:04 pm

    Love your blog! I had people tripping over themselves when I used to bf my biracial children (4 boys!) in public…And it sure wasn’t because there was boob hanging out, lol! Like you all they could see was this tiny white hand caressing my chocolate skin.

    • randomthoughtsfromcali permalink*
      May 29, 2010 1:10 pm

      LOL! There’s something sweet about it, though. Little white hand waving at the onlookers…
      I have four kids too! We’re busy.

  4. beautifulbrown permalink
    May 30, 2010 4:10 pm

    i met my boyfriend online too.. i am a little embarrassed but now online dating as become a big thing. he came to jamaica few months ago to see me, yeah i am that special….lol.. at first he thought i was a man and i had it in back of my mind that he probably might be a serial killer, but i was like nahhh.. no serial killer would come this far to a woman.. we hit it off right there online and when he came here.. i was nervous about but i was like what the heck, anywhere i am gonna meet the man of my dreams i will meet him ain’t no use limiting my options…

    • randomthoughtsfromcali permalink*
      June 10, 2010 4:36 pm

      So…how did things go when he came to visit you in the flesh? Did it get…erhm…fleshy? 🙂

      • beautifulbrown permalink
        June 10, 2010 8:36 pm

        all i gotta say is he wasnt disappointed.:)

  5. Sharon permalink
    June 1, 2010 6:16 pm

    My hubs and I don’t have any kids yet but that line sounds like something I would say lol

    • randomthoughtsfromcali permalink*
      June 1, 2010 6:43 pm

      Thanks for visiting, Sharon!

  6. June 3, 2010 1:07 pm

    “I just tell them I’m the wet nurse. Freaks them out every time.”

    Glad I didn’t have a drink in my hand when I read that. It would have been messy. Laughed till the tears came.

Leave a Reply

